Friday, July 8, 2016

Weekend Reminisces #1

Hey, it's Friday, the start of the weekend.
Sorry, I guess I'm not really telling you any  thing you don't already know.
So... lets focus on what's new this week.

To start with, I managed to pick up a few books at the discount bookstore ($2 each - what a bargain):

(Real #1)
Katy Evans

A fallen boxer.
A woman with a broken dream.
A competition...

He even makes me forget my name. One night was all it took, and I forgot everything and anything except the sexy fighter in the ring who sets my mind ablaze and my body on fire with wanting...

Remington Tate is the strongest, most confusing man I've ever met in my life.

He’s the star of the dangerous underground fighting circuit, and I’m drawn to him as I've never been drawn to anything in my life. I forget who I am, what I want, with just one look from him. When he’s near, I need to remind myself that I am strong—but he is stronger. And now it’s my job to keep his body working like a perfect machine, his taut muscles primed and ready to break the bones of his next opponents...

But the one he’s most threatening to, now, is me.

I want him. I want him without fear. Without reservations.

If only I knew for sure what it is that he wants from me?


Thrown by a Curve
(Play by Play #5)
Jaci Burton

She thinks she knows this player—but he has a few surprise moves. 

For Alicia Riley, her job as a sports therapist for the St. Louis Rivers baseball team is a home run—until she becomes the primary therapist for star pitcher, Garrett Scott. Out of the lineup with an injury, he’s short-tempered, hard to handle, and every solid inch, a man.

Right now, the only demand he’s making on Alicia is that she get him ready to pitch in time for opening day. Except the sexual chemistry between them is so charged, Alicia’s tempted to oblige Garrett just about anything. But both their careers are at stake—one bad move and it’s game over for both of them.

Garrett also feels the hot sparks between them, and the way he figures it, what better therapy is there than sex? Now all he has to do is convince the woman with the power to make the call.

* * * * *

Next, I finished reading:

(Lux #1.5)
Jennifer L. Armentrout

Experience the epic love story of OBSIDIAN as told by its hero, Daemon Black…

I knew the moment Katy Swartz moved in next door, there was going to be trouble. Lots of it. 

And trouble’s the last thing I need, since I’m not exactly from around here. My people arrived on Earth from Lux, a planet thirteen billion light years away. Plus, if there’s one thing I know, it’s that humans can’t be trusted. We scare them. We can do things they only dream about, and honestly, we make them look weak as hell. ‘Cuz they are. 

But Kat is getting to me in ways no one else has, and I can't stop myself from wanting her—or wanting to use my powers to protect her. She makes me weak, and I’m the strongest of our kind, tasked with protecting us all. So this one simple girl…she can mean the end for us. Because the Luxen have an even bigger enemy—the Arum, and I need to stay on my game. 

Falling for Katy—a human—won't just place her in danger. It could get us all killed, and that’s one thing I’ll never let happen...

My Tease:

“I knew right then I would burn down the whole universe for her if I had to. I would do anything to keep her safe. Kill. Heal. Die. Anything. Because she was my everything.” 

Yeah, Daemon is an all or nothing kind of guy.

* * * * *

And what am I currently reading:

A Court of Thorns and Roses
(A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)
Sarah J. Maas

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! 

I read this book back in early 2015 and loved it. So why am I reading it again? Because I wanted to refresh my memory before starting the next in the series - A Court of Mist and Fury

* * * * *

Please feel free to leave a comment below and I will endeavour to return the favour.


  1. Oh my gosh you got some goodies. I read Real and didn't love it, but if you do let me know and maybe I'll reread it some day. I haven't heard of Thrown by a Curve before but it seems awesome. Can't wait for your review. Congrats on getting those on sale. Oblivion was pretty good. I think Daemon is AWESOME!!! Smart to re-read ACOTAR! I may need to do that soon!

  2. Ahhh, Daemon. I think my favorite book of that series will always be Obsidian. Oblivion didn't impress me (neither did Origin) but the original three books were so great. I do love that series! <3

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

  3. Love the teaser! Daemon is just yeah.... I keep seeing Sarah J Maas books around, still need to read on.

  4. Now, I'm missing me some Daemon hard! Maybe soon I can just re-read the goodiness out of that series again :) And I still need to read ACOTAR